Pike Peak #3

Armed with the thermal imager, I headed up again to get some real data. I designed an experiment based on the previous 2 descents. I would climb to Glen Cove (zero braking going up), and begin a controlled descent. Since I was having issues within the first 500 vertical feet I decided to drop 1500 ft to a convenient pullout at the picnic area. I would not add any power during the descent and try to keep the bike under 30 MPH on the straight sections dropping to 15 MPH on the numerous switchbacks. At the picnic area I would park the bike in in 30 seconds, dismount, pull out the thermal imager and measure the temperature on the front and rear fins (heat sinks). The ambient temperature was about 52F. The heat sinks appeared to be working as I measured the front at 184F and the rear at 128F. While both front and rear were noisy and vibrating, the data showed me that I was favoring the front brake as it was 56F hotter. The next experiment I would try to even that out thermally.

Front Brake
Front Brake
Rear Brake
Rear Brake

Leave a comment