Prologue: An event that leads to another event or situation

Since opening to the biking public a couple years ago, the Pikes Peak Highway (PPH) represents an HC climb on my doorstep. Last year I leaned on it as a time efficient workout offering over 7000 feet of climbing in 19 miles. Every time I climb it’s a different ride depending on the weather, season, my training and mood. But every time I ride the Peak one thing is the same – that high alpine feeling you only get above tree line. Last summer I happened to be climbing the Peak the same day Susan MacEachern of Echo Hill Arts was out shooting and got these photos.
IMG_4128Last year after a couple white knuckle, wet road descents on my rim brake road bike I decided it was time to look at road disc bikes. I surveyed the field and landed on the Giant Defy Advanced Pro 1.

The Defy is an endurance bike meaning distinguishing features like a relaxed geometry, flexible seat stays designed to smooth the ride and capacity for wider tires (up to 28c). Many of the endurance bikes now include disc brakes, either hydraulic and cable. My Defy came equipped with the Shimano BR-RS785.

After the first few hundred miles of riding the rollers of Black Forest, I loved the Defy. While I primarily bought it for the braking performance, I quickly learned the compliance was perhaps its best feature. I am not sure how much is due to the 25C tires, the relaxed head tube angle or the absorbing design of the seat stays but riding it on well-known sections of road cracks left me pleasantly surprised that “compliance” was not just the latest marketing hype. It was noticeably more plush than my carbon, big tube era Douglas Matrix or aluminum Fuji Cross Pro.

After a few weeks and hundreds of miles breaking the Defy in, the PPH road opening, weather and Outlook schedule aligned.  I was ready to finally bask in the perfectly controlled and confident descent thereby justifying the purchase. When the PPH opens early in the season, spring storms create ebbs and flows in how high up you can ride but in April that tends to be around Glen Cove (11,500ft) which is 4500ft of vertical gain from Cascade. Actually this is plenty in the early season as I am transitioning from Freestyle XC and Ski Mountaineering and building cycling base. So the prologue begins…

Leave a comment